Dawn

Dawn flickers
High above the trees
As I stand from my window watching.
The air is heavy
With thunder and insects
The stillness is broken by the parakeets chirping.
The rain tree glistens
With last night’s downpour
Puddles abound in the potholes on the driveway.
A twig breaks
Sudden flapping of wings
Inches away from me I see a kite perching.
Craning its neck
It looks at me as if to inquire
What I’m doing when the neighborhood is still sleeping.
Stones crunching underfoot
As dogs go out on their morning walk
A frog splashes in the garden next door, croaking.
Soft summer clouds
Throng the sky like magnolia flowers
The tea grows cold as I stand, reflecting.
Unending thoughts, staring
At the scar on my hand while gladness
For April showers ripples down to my toes, my senses flooding.

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in april, Birds, Daily Life, Emotions, Experiences, garden, Life, Musings, poem, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Rumination, Seasons, summer, Thoughts, Thunder. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

