Wintered

Super moon, said he.
And, I fished out one from
The book of fading memories
When the shine of love
Could outdo that of the moon
And, make a winter night
Bloom with summer stars.
But, I know better now,
And, I believe the moon is diseased,
And love is fickle, and,
The consistency of it, terrific.
People are wounded either
By love, or the lack of it.
There is so much loneliness
In the world today
That sometimes one feels most alone
Being right next to a loved one.
As I sit conversing
With my old friend, sorrow
I realize that it's almost Christmas,
The poinsettias are dripping
Like hemorrhoids in the sun.
They remind me of beautiful,
yet, unhappy love affairs,
The tiny stories that make up
The bigger part of the Universe.
Outside the window, the last of autumn
Is trembling for your touch.
Soon winter will bury her
Song under a brown fog,
Reminding us that love finds
Every living being, but
Not everyone deserves to keep it.
And, so it loses itself
Much like the promises a man makes
In summer, that he feigns lost in winter.

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Autumn, Daily Life, Emotions, Experiences, Fall, Love, Memories, Musings, My Life, Nostalgia, poem, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Relationships, Seasons, summer, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wintered

  1. Ajoy Ghosh says:

    Excellent after long lull period.

    Like

Leave a Reply

