Just A Ramble

last night was very still,
the air was pregnant with expectation.
when i woke up this morning i could smell
a whiff of rain trailing the wind
that rocked the chimes on my balcony.

sipping on my tea i could see a young parrot
nibbling on a ripe mango in the garden next door,
while three squirrels chased each other’s tails
across the neighbor’s terrace.
in the distance above the tree tops
a black-winged kite with a shiny white head,
and a lone sarus crane vied for attention.

this unlikely couple dotted the horizon,
both majestic in their aloneness reminding me
that sometimes a soft touch is what you need
to deal with a hard, wild thing.

unpacking suitcases from the last trip
to make way for packing for another one,
i reflected on how much further is always left
to go regardless of how far one has gone.
and, no matter how far one travels,
there is always some wisdom to be found
in one’s backyard when one comes home.

The phone rang jarring my reverie, and, reiterating
that every moment has its own reality
and, that reality is constantly changing.
i move on with my day being grateful
for having this slice of time to myself and for my introspection
before the day’s madness cuts my ramble short.

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Emotions, Experiences, Life, Musings, My Life, Nature, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Rumination, Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

