A Heart Map

there is a map in my heart,

drawn in blood lines, and battlefield scars,

traversed by rivers and roads that speak of soft dawns, and, an intense twilight.

there is a map in my heart,

that smells like the heat of the summer,

colored by a burst of purple jacarandas against an orange sunset.

there is a map in my heart,

which does not look like a heart shaped candy;

it is fragile, and yet resilient, vibrating to a song of the open road.

there is a map in my heart,

that is as smooth as honey, and as sharp as a cold knife cutting through a snow storm of assumptions,

and, forcing me to be grateful on sleepless nights for the moon that hangs low, and the skies that remind me that i am not alone.

there is a map in my heart,

and, sometimes on certain days it trades peace for agony,

because, it prefers to chart its own path dancing to its own wild beat of drums.

there is a map in my heart,

that goes on journeys searching for truths that can lead one astray,

but, somewhere along the way it always finds a compass to bring it back to where it should be.

there is a map in my heart,

and, when i really want to listen to it, it’ll tell me when a no is clear, and, a yes is real,

egging me on to face what’s waiting to be discovered.

there is a map in my heart,

that hums a melody whose words i can’t remember forcing me to get lost in a dream world,

where i am floating on an ocean, and, i can taste the salt on my tongue at the mere memory of it.

there is a map in my heart,

that hides love, sadness, and, question marks with equal measures of silly smiles;

but, it appreciates a new beginning, because it knows that there is no way to go back.

there is a map in my heart,

that has been torn open by longing and betrayal, and it has bounced back again after having touched the center of its sorrow

Because it knows that life cannot stop because of fear of further pain.

there is a map in my heart,

which i cannot ink on paper now, because there are some things in it

that i think i’ll only understand when i am older, and perhaps when i’ve learnt to let sleeping dogs lie.

there is a map in my heart,

and, it has an antique frame with blank space waiting for a curious mind to complete it

with kindness, and some conversations that remain the same even though they continue to change.

there is a map in my heart,

and, you just might find it if you follow the glowworms on a night trail under a red sky

that promises rain at dawn, while you stand poised at a bend in the road wondering if it’s worth the turn.

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
Aside | This entry was posted in Adventure, Daily Life, Emotions, Experiences, Love, Memories, Musings, My Life, Nostalgia, Poetry, Random pieces of Moi, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Relationships, Rumination, Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

