A Feathered Soul

Soul is such a jaded word.
But, because of you I connected with mine today.
Yes, after a long long time.
I woke up to see this tiny feathered creature
in a glory of green and blue sitting on the window ledge
and, shaking its head and calling to me.
But, when I went near,
it flew away all flustered,
Reminding me of your flight, so much like his.
I couldn’t tell if it was a cry for fear, or help, or plain old attention?
But, this beautiful creature of the wild sat on the electric wire across the garden,
taunting and tempting my attempts at domesticating him.
I looked at him and let him go as he hopped around the lawn
preening at himself in the small puddles left from last night’s rain,
and made bird eyes at me.
I stood awhile gazing at him trying not to give in
to my desire to stroke his feathers and give him food.
He didn’t really need that, did he?
Wild he is, and wild he will remain
Much like your and mine souls that we find so hard to tame.
The chores of the day pressed down on me,
and I waved him good-bye and journeyed my way
hoping that he would find his path of bliss,
and, come back to me someday to say hello again.

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Emotions, Experiences, Love, Memories, Musings, Nature, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Relationships, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

