Rainy Nairobi

Nairobi’s been raining on me since dawn.
The drizzle in my heart matches
the rhythm of the one that falls outside.

Ominous clouds still loom in the distance
across the rows of electrical lines,
and, over the tree tops.

The hibiscus flowers lining our balcony
sway ever so slightly in the rising wind,
and, shining fresh like diamonds.

I wish I could be like those flowers;
happy in the moment, and wilted tomorrow,
not yearning for what is not.

The neighbor’s bike stoically
braves the rain, rusting at the edges
much like the frays of my life.

But, there’s something in the air
that whispers to me this afternoon.
I know I will see you again. Soon.

And, this is not a haiku,
or a weather forecast inspired by the monsoons.
I feel it deep down in my bones.

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Emotions, Experiences, Love, Memories, Musings, My Life, Nostalgia, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Relationships, Rumination and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

