A Fickle Heart

All I really needed was you.
Yet, I’ve erased you out of my books now.
But, I’m still on your case.
When I’m no longer even looking for you
in every corner of every street.
My fickle heart seems to be playing
yesterday’s blues over and over again in my mind,
like a voice mail that got stuck on repeat.
Sometimes I close my eyes, and, count to ten,
thinking that it will show up blank for a change,
devoid of all memories of you.
But, it seems you’re still alive,
making your last attempt at taking my breath away.
The good news though, is that
your ghost and I have become good friends.
And, since I learned to walk on glass,
I’ve become even more generous now,
doling out pain and pleasure in equal measure.
Take another piece of my heart if you want.
I’ll gladly offer you the hospitality.
The bitterness and heaviness are replaced
by a strange light and reason.
I suddenly remember now
why you loved me before.
And, I move on secure in the knowledge
that you’ll love me again
Because, you’ll never see anything like me ever,
And, memories that matter always persist,
while the rest slip away slowly, but surely.
About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Fickle Heart

  1. Heartfelt and lovely.

    Like

  2. TK says:

    poignant..warm ..touching..

    Like

Leave a Reply

