The Song of Forgetting

Forgetting means to see things as they are not
Of trying to remember a time before I knew you.

I try to remember a time when I never knew
Of what’s lost to me in trying to let go of you.

You chose to shut me out and forget everything,
But, have you really forgotten me since you walked away?

I wonder how far you’ve really gone,
Is it as far as you wanted to?

Maybe, my eyes today reflect an endless stretch of empty skies;
But, I comfort myself of having sang a song devoid of lies.

And, now I sing to forget the piled up hurt, and the bottled up tears,
Because unlike you, I have what it takes to face my fears.

You may walk the miles, without traveling the distance
That I am already crossing by singing the song of forgetting.

But don’t you go so far away that you won’t know the way back,
Because someday you might just need to do that.

And, I am writing this song down for you, because I know
That my guided tour will not be around to fetch you back in to the show.

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Emotions, Experiences, Love, Memories, Musings, My Life, Poetry, Reflections, Relationships, Rumination, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Song of Forgetting

  1. Ajoy Ghosh says:

    JIRNO PURATON JAK VESHE JAK AMARA SUNECHI OI MA VAI MA VAI VOY KORINA KAHEK AMRA NUTON JUGER DOOT……

    Your writing is so excellent and expressive. My Love Piyari… Baba

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. TK says:

    So touching … thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

