Will It Rain?

A summer night in Lagos,
Heat evaporates from the
Gravel that I have paced
For a month now.
 
The stillness outside
Is dulled by the generator’s droning.
A sudden lizard’s screech
Sends a chill down my spine,
Almost waking the dead.
 
The air is heavy
With an inexplicable gloom.
I can barely feel my breath.
Dry eyes burn in the dark
Waiting for the long-awaited showers.
 
Will it rain tomorrow?
It must. I convince myself.
The land around me needs
The blessings as much as I do.
 
I peer out of the window
At the midnight moon, hiding behind
Clouds that look like freshly roasted marshmallows.
One seems to ask me, ‘Should I rain?’
And, I answered, ‘Yes, let loose all that you contain.’
About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Emotions, Memories, Musings, Nature, Poetry, Reflections, Rumination and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Will It Rain?

  1. Ashwin says:

    nice one…, seems like these places are bringing out the poet in you..

    Like

Leave a Reply

