Once Upon a July Night

Stormy evening sea,
A dark, and, rainy creation
Of monsoon magic.

Sheets of rain
Beat incessantly on
The window pane.

I can hear
The sea rise, and, grind itself
Flat against rocks.

The night mingles
With the sounds of the
Moaning coconut trees.

Memories of you
Emerge from the shadows
To drown me.

Like tidal waves
They swallow my heart, and
Throw it far out.

With dawn break,
It’s washed ashore like a shipwreck
On a deserted island.

*Poetry Potluck*

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Emotions, Experiences, Love, Memories, Musings, My Life, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Relationships, Rumination, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Once Upon a July Night

  1. love sea imagery, superb piece.

    Like

  2. The aching memories are palpable. Your heart washed upon the shore… so sad.
    Nicely said and writtten.

    Like

  3. Jingle says:

    amazing,
    Thanks for sharing, very dynamic and stunning piece.

    Like

  4. TK says:

    waves …. memories…can feel them .. thanks!

    Like

  5. Andy says:

    So sad, but penned beautifully.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. Shashi says:

    Dear Amrita

    It was poignant and also beautiful…. I could relate to this so much… as I keep ending up writing about love, life and longing… so it touched me deeply… your lines …
    ‘Memories of you
    Emerge from the shadows
    To drown me.’
    … are etched in my thoughts…. and specially so as I love everything about sea and sea shores… too…. many of my emotions are engraved in the sand or scattered on the beach…

    Thanks for joining in the Poetry Potluck WK 43 which I am hosting for the first time… hope you have liked it too…. and wish to see you again…
    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/07/whispers-cuckoos-song-and-smell-of-love.html
    At Twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Like

  7. Amrita Ghosh says:

    thanks everyone for visiting and for the encouraging words!

    Like

  8. Rimjhim says:

    Beautifully penned……please do keep on writing

    Like

Leave a Reply

