Will You Be My Valentine?

'Heart' by Ian Winstanley 2005; Design Copyright: The Art Group Limited, UK

I give you little choice today, my darling Valentine
Except to make do with what I choose to opine.

My carefree smiles and ten earrings
Refuse today to delight your yearnings.

Rather, my famed big teeth and elephant-like ears
Have just announced a mild shift in gears.

Today, I don’t feel inclined to make an effort
To arrange myself, and look pretty for your comfort.

Love as I might all the roses, candles, diamonds, and wine,
Right now, I need something more concrete than a commercialized Valentine.

So, why not today we both sit cross-legged on the park bench
To discuss why my politics and yours have a different stench?

Can you lean forward and argue for your rights
Without trying to steal a sneaky look towards my thighs?

Can you make a sincere attempt to know why I am who I am
Before you start making me the object of your devotional spam?

Till the time you realize that friction is inherent in attraction,
This crazy rhyme will also dwindle to just another distraction.

So, if you can love me for my flaws, and, for my mental design,
Perhaps then with divine intervention, I’ll ask you to be my Valentine.

***Poetry Potluck

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Emotions, Experiences, Humor, Lifestyle, Love, Memories, Musings, My Life, Photography, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Relationships, Thoughts, Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Will You Be My Valentine?

  1. TK says:

    Very touching…heart to heart…nice pics also

    Like

  2. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @TK – thanks man, and HVD to you!

    Like

  3. “devotional spam” Amrita, that is too good. Nice poem and perfect for this weeks Potluck. Thank you! Thanks for your visit and wise words at my blog.

    Happy Valentine’s Day –

    Peace and Hugs!
    Jamie

    Like

  4. Wonderful piece. The beginning made me think of “My Funny Valentine” but as it went on it took a different turn. I truly enjoyed this, we all need more than “commercialized Valentine”
    Happy Potluck. Here’s mine: http://mysticmarleei.wordpress.com/2011/02/13/this-feeling/

    Like

  5. budhaaah says:

    Right right right. Way to go girl. Not spending a moping Valentine’s like me.

    Like

  6. mairmusic says:

    very nicely written– reminds me a bit of Edna St. Vincent Millay– especially her sonnet that begins, “Oh, oh, you will be sorry for that word!”

    Like

  7. Jingle says:

    time to face the music, be yourself and discover true love…

    sad and powerful piece. enjoyed your style here.

    perfect love entry.

    A++
    🙂

    u rock!

    Like

  8. Excellent write, love what it portrays.

    Anita.

    Like

  9. Spot on for Valentine’s day…I like the term “devotional spam”. Excellent poem.

    Like

  10. Scent of my heart says:

    No one should decline such an offer after such words 🙂 ! Lovely contribution Amrita!

    Like

  11. Ina says:

    Wonderfully done, beautiful valentine days poem! 🙂

    Like

  12. you just read my mind .exactly what i was thinking about this v-day, only you put it so much more beautifully and in a much more civilized manner .Enjoyed it very much . Cheers!

    Like

  13. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @all – thanks very much for visiting and appreciating my doodlings. Apologies for the rather belated response. I’ve been off blogging for a while. But, I promise to catch up with all of you and your wonderful writings soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

