Memory

***Sunday Scribblings said the theme is ‘Eternity’. I thought to myself, isn’t a memory for eternity too? So…

Memory, you make me forget
What I want to remember.
And, insist that I remember
What I want to forget.

Memory, you old fool and traitor,
Stop back-slapping me, and get your act straight.

Memory, you’re an unpredictable assassin,
Back-stabbing my carefully crafted universe.
And, suddenly there are splashes of red and green
All over a pristine white canvas.

Memory, I know you’re colored,
Much as you might pretend to be a dullard.

Memory, if you’re still angry, you wear a Phantom’s black robe.
But, when at peace, you like to sport Snow-white’s long cloak.
And, when you no longer care, or give a damn,
You like to spray a sepia tint with an outspread Japanese fan.

Memory, your ghastly invasions burn my soul, and stifle my breath.
Memory, I wish you’d just let go, and accept that my reality has pronounced you ‘dead’.

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Emotions, Experiences, Love, Memories, Musings, My Life, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Relationships, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Memory

  1. Rachel says:

    “Memory, you old fool and traitor,
    Stop back-slapping me, and get your act straight.”

    I’d like to slap my memory around sometimes! Like when it bombards me with ones of sad times.

    Like

  2. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @Rachel – thanks for visiting…glad it struck a chord! i think i know exactly what you mean…that’s why memory deserves to be slapped, at times πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Scent of my heart says:

    Memories can be traitors indeed, oh, I have few of those too. So sweet they are, but poisonous and slap is so hard to be given, when you know you must. Thanks for visiting me Amrita!

    Like

  4. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @Blaga – thanks much for stopping by, as well πŸ™‚ glad you liked this random musing!

    Like

  5. Scent of my heart says:

    Greetings! How is your weekend?

    I am Blaga from Jingle Poetry : http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    You are invited to join us this Sunday for our Monday Poetry Potluck Week 19, we are open 8pm, American Central, will remain open for 72 hours, yet, you get better traffic when you link in early.

    if you fall short writing a theme related piece, feel free to share 1 to 3 old poems…Best Regards.

    You have a lovely blog, your poetry radiate and it is our greatest pleasure to have you being part of our growing community. Hope to see you in..sign in to follow our blog if you can!

    We value your support and would be more than happy to answer your questions and assist you with possible concerns…

    Best Wishes for your day.

    Week 19 Theme: Rules, regulations, and laws!

    Like

    • Amrita Ghosh says:

      @Blaga – thanks for the invite…if i can think up something to write along those lines, i shall surely join…i ususally find a random muse that refuses to obey rules πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • Scent of my heart says:

        You can still be part of the Potluck with a poem not on the theme, my poems are not always related to the theme there, but still I participate. If you decide to try, you’re very welcome! If you have questions let me know! Thanks!

        Like

  6. Ina says:

    Hi, this is a very good poem! I liked it a lot. Memory is not always a friend.

    Thank you for visiting my blog! πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Most enjoyable read…especially liked

    “Memory, your ghastly invasions burn my soul, and stifle my breath.”

    Excellent.

    Like

  8. Jingle says:

    lovely words…
    memory is a reminder of our past…

    Glad to see you around.
    πŸ˜‰

    Like

  9. how often we wrestle with memory! I liked the themes in this poem:)

    Like

  10. Jae Rose says:

    Lovely piece- you managed to weave in some great humorous undertones..like a real conversation with pesky old memory..Jae

    Like

  11. Old Egg says:

    Memory that friend and enemy of us all. You have done well to make this an amusing piece, mine sadly would have been much more morbid.

    Like

    • Amrita Ghosh says:

      @OE – gee, thanks…glad you found it amusing, especially, my ‘death declaration’ on bad memory after they’ve served their purpose. thanks for stopping by…do visit again πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. buttercup600 says:

    Loved the theme and your word flow in this so much!! The last two lines stands out for me…Brilliant work oxo

    Like

  13. Lilibethl says:

    Unfortunately that memory persists or fortunately or our slice of eternity would be considerably shorter.

    Like

  14. Elizabeth J says:

    Intriguing personification! Enjoyed this one πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Altonian says:

    Be careful what you ask for, you may get it! I would not lose any of my memories, good or bad – they are part of me, and make up my history. A very good piece of writing nevertheless.

    Like

  16. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @Altonian – thank you πŸ™‚ and, yes, you’re right about not losing any of the memories…they define who we are or what we have become…however, sometimes, i feel that when a certain memory has served its purpose and yet continues to painfully upset your psyche or prevent you from moving forward, then you should put it to rest πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

