An Incurable Romantic

I had captured this at the Camden Market years ago. I still remember thinking about the color of love; one shade that doesn't always suit all. And, yet...

Love in hindsight is a crying shame.
When it matters most, it’s never quite game.

If it was all good, then why did I let go?
Was it because you too wanted to go?

One day romance packed its punch, and went away,
Ruthlessly confiscating with it my urge to play!

Endless questions to which answers always flow,
While I keep searching for the Love that I ought to know.

Love that stretches out a hand when I’m in pain,
Love that dances barefoot with me, in cold November rain.

Love that feels the rhythm when I’m singing out of tune,
Love that holds me up when I’m sinking in the quick sands of the dune.

Love that sometimes feels like an algebraic equation,
But, adds up just as well, like a mathematical calculation.

So my faithless, doubting soul still carries a dream for me and you,
Well aware, that the light at the tunnel’s end might never shine true.

But, my heart has learnt to handle its spells of moody blues,
Knowing that somewhere soon, I’ll cross the chasm, and find you.

* I submitted this for the Monday Poetry Potluck. Do check them out for diverse reads and talents. After a long gap of trying to get over a poetic block, I’m happy to be writing again, even if randomly. So, thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Experiences, Love, Memories, Musings, My Life, Photography, Poetry, Random pieces of Moi, Random Thoughts, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to An Incurable Romantic

  1. TK says:

    full of life.. great work… waiting for more …

    Like

  2. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @TK – thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. fiveloaf says:

    love the rhyme and tempo of this poem..

    Like

  4. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @kris/fiveloaf – thanks much for stopping by to read this, and, for the encouraging words ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. Chris G. says:

    Good beat and flow – a nice little relationship musing.
    In terms of structure, though, I’ve but one critique, and that’s that I would strike out some of the “go’s,” swap them out for other words, change things around a bit even to make other rhymes applicable in there. To rhyme go with itself, and to use go three times seems…excessive, and there are any number of others that would work well there. Just my two cents. Nice work, though.

    Like

  6. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @Chris – hey chris! firstly, thanks for visiting again…it’s been a while. and, secondly, many thanks for taking the time to share your two cents…i shall remember for future reference ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Jingle says:

    I am so happy to see you new poem post.

    super fine tuned piece,
    perfect rhymes.
    Thanks for sharing with potluck.
    Glad to have muses find you and amuse you .

    Like

  8. Nice rhythm–and I like the alliteration in the last line. Thanks
    for sharing this with us.

    Like

  9. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @heather – thanks for taking time out to read this…i wrote this as a distraction really, with some very annoying work issues breathing down my neck…so, the alliteration was totally accidental and commonplace ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  10. losing ur self into someone is a crazy experience …..
    amrita i liked the poem.
    Cheers!!!
    my pots :
    http://wiserskydiver.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/if-it-is-it-if/
    http://wiserskydiver.wordpress.com/2010/11/12/4th/

    Like

  11. Shashi says:

    Dear Amrita
    So simple and lovely thoughts in a very loving way.. I liked the simplicity of your words …

    เฅ เคจเคฎเคƒ เคถเคฟเคตเคพเคฏ
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

    Like

  12. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @shashi – thank you very much for visiting and taking time out to read my poetry. will check out your blog…look forward to you visiting again ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  13. 700miles says:

    oh, i know the writers block dilemma. i think we all go through it… great that you were able to break through and put together this poem. :-)~700…

    Like

  14. Jingle says:

    potluck award/treats can be claimed at entry #160, week 10.
    Thanks for the lovely contribution.
    Happy Thursday.

    Like

  15. Amrita Ghosh says:

    @Ji – thanks much and have a lovely weekend. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

