Afternoon in the Hills

It’s four o’ clock in the afternoon,
But, it already seems like six.
A sharp nip in the air, and, I wonder
Is July turning into November?

Church bells ring out in the distant hills,
A faint honey-suckled air fills the breeze,
A mist descends slowly on the rolling tea fields,
As a soft rain starts to drizzle.

A lone crow chases away a pair of screeching parakeets,
While the wind sends the eucalyptus trees into shivers.
My dogs run around, as I snuggle up, sipping tea,
Turning inwards, listening for peace.

* Here’s some background to this Musing:

Friday night last week, was fraught with delayed flights. I landed home past midnight, from a business trip, desperately seeking sleep, only to have my mom announce that we’re leaving on a long-awaited family trip to the hills at five o’ clock in the morning. I’ve never been a morning person, and, this really stumped me. Not that I wasn’t looking forward to this sudden breather; in fact, it was precisely what I needed. But, it was just that I was too tired to really be excited about anything. Anyways, I had to be dragged out of bed in the morning, and with tired feet, a blank mind, and, a weary soul, I got on the road again.

Luckily, weekend traffic was sparse, and, we quickly found our way out of the city. By mid-morning, we were already cruising through valleys of marigold flowers meandering into forest roads, strewn with langurs posing atop mile posts, and, packs of spotted deer deftly shying away. By the time we arrived at the blue mountains, past the crowded, tiny streets, and, tea picker huts in all shades of shocking green, blue and orange, I knew that I was happy to be there.

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Adventure, Daily Life, Experiences, Memories, Musings, My Life, Nature, Photography, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Afternoon in the Hills

  1. Jingle says:

    beautiful,
    love the background…
    Sorry for the delay.
    will link you in in a minute…

    have fun!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 25 (July 22-July 28) « Jingle

  3. Amrita Ghosh says:

    Hey, thanks much Ji, for accepting my 11th hour entry! 🙂

    Like

  4. Kavita says:

    Referring to the Nilgiris by any chance ? Lovely !!!

    I too am sooo not a morning person (ugghh.. the thought irks me!). But the thought of clarity and fresh air is indeed invigorating to the soul, isn’t it? Makes waking up early, worth it! 🙂
    Loved the verses in your poem… so chirpy and aaahhhh … 😀
    Hope you had a superb time!!! Enjoy..

    Like

  5. TK says:

    feels like fresh fresh cut lime..nice ..no hooks though..

    Like

  6. jincy says:

    beautiful… and a true breather…

    Like

  7. Pingback: Poems, Dreams, and Poets-The Highlight of Thursday Poets Rally week 25 | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  8. Amrita Ghosh says:

    thank you 🙂

    Like

  9. Pingback: The Celebrate Poet of July Award Nominations Announcement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  10. Anky0112 says:

    lovely piece and muse behind it…

    keep rocking!!!

    Like

  11. Amrita Ghosh says:

    thank you very much…so glad you stopped by and liked this 🙂

    Like

  12. Pingback: Agreement 4 Rally Week 25 | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

Leave a Reply

